Seddon Street, Middlewich – Ground 3

Middlewich Town 1-4 Stockport Town, Seddon Street (28/07/2016)

IMG_4075.JPG

Competition: Pre-season friendly

Admission Price: Free

Programme: Not one available

Attendance: 37 (head count)

The Ground 

I hadn’t planned on this visit but with my partner out with work I decided to trawl twitter and see what games were on locally to me and I stumbled upon this game.

IMG_4084.JPG

And what a gem this little ground is, Seddon Street is home to Middlewich Town who play in League One of the Cheshire Football League and for me is an absolute credit to football at this level.

IMG_4068.JPG

I was able to park up easily just outside the ground and made my way into an impressive club house, which lead directly on the ground. I made my way to the main stand in the ground ahead of kick off which was delayed slightly.

IMG_4083.JPG

 

The stand offers you the chance to sit or stand just above both benches, giving you the chance to truly take in the talk amongst the staff and subs.

I made my way around the ground as the game went on and was never far from the action, this is a truly special ground, the intimate family setting is unique.

The Match:

Despite being two leagues lower their visitors, Middlewich made an impressive start to the game and took a deserved lead through the exciting number 11 (who I later found out is called James Smith). Smith really caught my eye and looked at ease against higher league opposition.

IMG_3913.JPG

Stockport’s response to going behind was impressive and they managed to draw level before the break. They kicked on in the second half with a thoroughly professional performance and ran out 4-1 winners, with Middlewich missing a late consolation penalty.

Game Rating: 8/10 a great evening, with two impressive teams playing in a lovely setting.

Man of the Match: James Smith – really impressed and looked comfortable against higher league opposition .

IMG_4070.JPG

 

Leave a Reply

